History of East Fulton

 

East Fulton:  A Rich Heritage- A Visionary Future

              On April 15, 2016, East Fulton Baptist Church celebrates her 133rd birthday.  Organized in 1883 as Mt. Zion Baptist Church, the church stood in a grove of pine trees just off the Highway 78 east of Fulton.  In the 1940s, the church was often confused with another church in the association, so the congregation changed the name to White Church Baptist Church because of the distinctive white planks on the facade of the building.  This building was simple but functional with curtains being used to petition Sunday School rooms.

                In 1952 a new brick sanctuary was erected leading to the church voting to once again change the name, this time to East Fulton Baptist Church.   Additions and modifications were made to that building in 1960.  Only twelve years later, the church built its present sanctuary along with education and fellowship facilities. In 2000, the church erected the Family Life Center which includes office space, classrooms, choir room, fellowship hall, and gymnasium.          

                Through the years the church has enjoyed the leadership of faithful, God-called pastors.  Some of the former pastors include Bro. George A. Senter, Bro. D. R. Raper, Bro. Eugene Digby, Bro. Grover Laird, Bro. Dewitt Bain, and Bro. Gary Smith.  The current pastor, Bro. John Lewis, came to the church in January, 2016.

                The pastor, Minister of Music Danny Oswalt, Pastor Emeritus Grover Laird and the entire church family extends a warm welcome to any of East Fulton’s services.